Russian Imperial Stout: Beginners Tips and Tricks

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

soxside

Reaction score
Ok, so a little background here... I've been brewing for almost three years now and am venturing into a RIS for the first time. This is a huge beer and want it to go right so I'm looking for any and all advice from veterans who've been there before. Right now the beer is tasting sweeter from the vanilla beans but the "moonshine" like kick and bitterness isn't as faded as I'd like. How long should I let it age with the vanilla beans (i realize they were added too early) and when will the gravity stop dropping??

Some surprises I've had already is that the gravity is still dropping. First time WLP099 was used in my brewing as well so unsure of how it normally acts.

14lbs Crisp Maris Otter
2lbs Briess Caramel 20
2lbs Oats, Flaked
1lb Briess Caramel 40
1lb Caramel Pils 30
1lb Briess Caramel 60
1lb Briess Roasted Barley
1lb Rice Hulls
8oz Crisp Pale Chocolate alt

60 mins 2oz Summit
15 mins 2oz Chinook
1 min 2oz Cascade

Wyeast Scottish Ale (1728) Pitched 2 liter starter
Super High Gravity Ale (WLP099)

2 ea Vanilla Bean
2oz Cocoa Extract

Mash @158F 60min
Batch Sparge @170F 45min

OG: 1.100
11/05 @70F Fermentation within 12hrs.
11/09 @60-62F @1.050
11/11 Pitched WLP099
11/19 @68-70F @1.038
11/19 Moved to secondary
12/01 @61-62F @1.024
12/03 Added vanilla beans and chocolate
12/25 @61-62F @1.020

Did you make a starter when you pitched your yeast. Also you could have left it in primary longer before racking to secondary. Side note wich you probably know if vanilla beans stay in longer than 14 days they will start to leave a bitter taste instead of that sweeter vanilla flavour.