Rookie mistake-need advice.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Shiest

Reaction score
So this isnt my first batch but I'm no expert. I understand the general principals but I feel I made a dumb mistake and need advice. So I was into my boil with 1 oz of hop pellets added at the beginning of the boil. The recipe called for another ounce at 15 min. to go. SO... I took out the first bag and threw the second one in with 15 minutes to go. Needless to say the 1st ounce didn't get a full 60 minutes of boil time. I transferred to secondary yesterday and am dry hopping now. I tasted it and it tastes like beer but its an IPA and didn't nearly have the hops I wanted. So a few questions from those more experienced. 1. will the hop flavor become more pronounced after aging? am i just over reacting? 2. Is there anything that could be done? I was even thinking of boiling some hops in a little water and then adding it to the fermenter. I dunno. im thinking that last 15 minutes of missed boiling is crucial...

You most likely will not notice any difference. Are these whole hops or pellets. Why bag them? Hop debris can go in the fermentor or be strained out at the time the wort is poured into the fermentor.