Rectangles or Circles; Building a Mash Tun

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dollhousebrewery

Reaction score
Hello All,

I am new to brewing (only on my 6th right now) but have already become addicted. I am getting my tax return soon and want to build a MLT. I have read several articles on how to make them, and looked at several kits. I would like to know if there are any major advantages/disadvantages to either type of cooler. If anyone has any tips on building your own, or knows any good articles for me to read, that would be great. I also would like to be able to put a thermometer in it, and havent found any articles on how to do this either. I dont really know that much about mashing, although I have read a bit. Like I said, I am still new to brewing all together, and loving it.

Doll House Brewpub Masta,
Nizate

I compromised and went square with a 60 qt Igloo Ice Cube. I fly sparge with it and have achieved 80% efficiency (the most recent number...it keeps increasing with every brew).

You are stuck batch sparging with most rectangular designs (too hard to avoid channeling over a wide grain bed). You can choose your sparge method (batch or fly) with the square or round designs.

For the thermometer, skip the through-wall design, and just use a digital probe. They're more accurate.