profiles for different styles of beer

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

KyBeer

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I have been brewing for over 30 years and can make almost any beer I want to make. With that said I want to improve to the next level.
I can build a water profile to almost any target with my tap water or a a blend of distilled water.
What I have trouble finding is the targets for different beer styles.
When looking at where a beer is brewed I can get the water report for that location and build it from my water, but what I don't know is what the brewer at that site did to the water.
I am looking for a website, book or anyway to find the target for a style of beer.
Most books list a general range of styles and range for salts. I would like more!

Example: If I want to brew a Blue Moon Clone, it is a Belgian style witbeir. I can find a Witbeir target that looks like this:
Ca 50-100 Alkalinity 0-80 Sulfate 0-50 Chloride 0-100 Kalbach RA 30-0 with acid adjust needed for PH correction.

I have several books I use for reference but just can't close the loop.
Cheers!

Example: If I want to brew a Blue Moon Clone, it is a Belgian style witbeir. I can find a Witbeir target that looks like this:
Ca 50-100 Alkalinity 0-80 Sulfate 0-50 Chloride 0-100 Kalbach RA 30-0 with acid adjust needed for PH correction.