Pressure in keg after chilling

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mark_tries_brewing

Reaction score
So I am new to brewing but started with a good bit of equipment. I think I dry hopped a little too soon. I didn't want to leave the beer on them for more than 7 days so I transferred to a keg (two nights ago) but I think my fermentation was not actually complete. I had a gravity reading of 1.020 but kegged anyway figuring it was because my temps in my mash spiked up to about 160-163 about 15 mins in (made a mistake and the water for the HERMS was too hot) and the recipe had an estimated fg of 1.018 anyway. Today my CO2 regulator arrived and before I hooked it up pressed down the poppet on the gas post to purge the air that had been in there. Despite having the keg in the fridge there was a burst of air coming out of the keg. I would assume from chilling the pressure inside would be below ambient but it was higher. A few minutes later I checked and more air rushed out. Is this an indication that the yeast (S04) is still working after 18 days, the last four of which were at about 40 degrees? Or is more likely its just some of the C02 left from fermentation coming out of solution? If I let the keg warm back up for a few days is there a chance it will carb naturally or should I just hook up C02?