Poll - Keg Conditioning Time

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

After burst carbing, when does the beer taste right?

• In 5 days or less

• 1 Week

• 2 Weeks

• 3 Weeks, same as bottling

Results are only viewable after voting.

WhiskeyR

Reaction score
After connecting the gas, burst carbing and cooling the keg to around 40*, when is the beer "ready" in your personal experience:

I'm new to kegging, having only kegged two batches so far. My first batch tasted funky until about 10 days in the keg, then it was great. My second kegged batch also tastes funky at the moment but has only been in the keg for 5 days now.

I feel like there are two schools of thought to kegging, from what I've read in my searches. For some, the beer is ready when its carbed, plus maybe a couple days. Others seem to condition in the keg as long as they would in a bottle.

3 wks is my experience, even with 30 psi for 2 days, dropped to serving..not that i wait quite that long!

I'm not sure what you mean by burst carbing but I set my regulator around 12 PSI in a 40* fridge and it seems to take about 2 weeks to carbonate fully.

How long do you wait to keg after brewing/fermenting. I have beers that have improved with aging but the carbonation level doesn't seem to have too much impact on that.

I'm not sure what you mean by burst carbing but I set my regulator around 12 PSI in a 40* fridge and it seems to take about 2 weeks to carbonate fully.

How long do you wait to keg after brewing/fermenting. I have beers that have improved with aging but the carbonation level doesn't seem to have too much impact on that.