OK, I'm a Lazy Brewer........

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Old John

Reaction score
I really am.......And, I've been brewing beer since 1993.

I go to the Brew Store, I pick up a couple or three cans of......
ohh....... 4# JB Traditional English Ale hopped malt extract (or anything similar, Brown Ale or Dark,whatever's handy)and a like number of 3# bags of plain dry Amber malt extract and three 1# bags of crystal malt and a pound of chocolate malt.. Occasionally, I get a 3# bag of drak malt extract for variety.
I also get a couple ounces of Willamette hop pellets, 1/2 oz. per batch for aroma..
That's about all I need to be happy.........
I can brew 3 batches of essentially 7# Beer. It'll be pretty mellow.

I crush my grain, 1# of crystal malt, sometimes also a 1/2# of chocolate malt added, in 6 qt. of cold water, bring to a boil, strain out grain & sparge with hot boiled water. Add sparging to brew-pot.
I add the malt extract, a 4# can of Hopped & 3# of plain dry extract, to pot,
bring back to a boil, boil 15 minutes, add the 1/2oz. of hop pellets, let boil a min. or 2 & shut it off. Let it sit a minute or 2.
Pour through a strainer into my carboy with 2 gal. of hot water to get hoppy stuff out, top off to 3 inch from the top with hot boiled water, plug & let sit to cool.

When it's cooled sufficiently, I add two 5 to 7 gr. pkgs. of Cooper's or other good yeast, poured dry, on top of wort. I use a simple blow-off tube in a bucket of water, for air-lock. It'll be bubbling in 20 to 45 minutes after yeast is addded.
It'll be done working in 5 or 6 days. I bottle with a level cup of corn sugar, boiled in a pint of water for bottle conditioning. That make's a nice head.
After a couple weeks or a month, in the bottle, it's good to drink..