Not sure if this is normal

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I am trying to make a pina colada brew. I am not sure if it is supposed to look like this because none of my other brews have separated like it and had the chunks like it. I have only done about 7 different ones so far as I am new to brewing. Also, not sure if it would be considered a wine or cider. I based my assumption off the expected ABV. The recipe that I did is – 64 oz 100% pineapple juice, 42 oz coconut water, 1.5 lbs sugar, 1 pkt ec-1118 yeast, 1 tsp yeast nutrient, and ½ tsp pectic enzyme, Starting Gravity is 1.104. I figure I will adjust the flavors in secondary. The problem, if it is a problem, is the chunks and amount of buildup at the top. I thought it might just be the pectic enzyme but it has never done it with my other brews. Any insight would be greatly appreciated. Blessings.

Attachments

• 20231111_224620.jpg
    20231111_224620.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 0
I haven't attempted anything like it. Is it your own recipe? With gravity that high, you should expect extreme activity.
I came across the recipe and then tweaked it just a little. I wanted a higher ABV to avoid oxidation. I had read that it is more difficult to oxidize once you get above 10%. If this goes dry, which it should with the 1118, I expect it to be in the 14% range.

I'd wait until fermentation settles down (a week or two) before worrying about what's floating on top.

Brew on :mug:
Thanks, I will. 24 hrs in it has now become quite active. I have had to clean out the airlock twice. I am thinking that what I was seeing may have been pulp. I am thinking I may need to set up a blowoff tube instead as I have had a little bit of a mess happen with it. Just part of the fun of brewing. :)