Noob questions - Delabeling, no chill wort, etc

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DubbinFive1Eight

Reaction score
A few questions if you don't mind answering! I checked with the FAQ as well as a bit of searching here, but the search engine isn't the best (most forums tend to be this way from what I've seen).

1. What's the best way to take labels off old bottles? I've soaked 12 Samuel Adams bottles in hot water for an hour, but the glue is left over and I don't wanna hand ''scrub'' over 100 bottles for the two 5 gal batches of brew I have going lol. I thought about steaming them in the dishwasher, but I dunno if that would clog up the draining system? Dunno... Total noob question, I know...

2. I've read a few things about people moving away from secondary fermentation, as well as NOT chilling the wort when it's finished boiling. What's the purpose of eliminating secondary fermentation (pros, cons), and the same for the no chill wort? Also, if you leave the wort to air cool, how do you keep it sterile?

3. Glass vs. plastic carboys... Is there a real difference? I've read a post describing how some plastic bottles (#7 IIRC) can be bad for your health, but otherwise, are there any advantages to either? I find plastic lighter to handle and cheaper to obtain, but my local brew store trys to convince me glass is far superior.

Alright... I think thats it for now. Hopefully you'll be gentle on me if these questions have been answered a thousand times, but I couldn't find any definitive information!

Thanks in advance :mug:

-Chris

1. I soak em in hot water and PBW or OxyClean to loosen the labels up. Then I use a copper scrubbing pad to remove what's left of the labels.