No Fermentation!!!!!!!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ShockedHop

Reaction score
Ok so i recently started brewing again a couple months ago any have done like 5 batches so far. No issues and no problems at all....untill now!

I brewed a brewers best oktoberfest kit last saturday. Needless to say it was a bad brew day for me. Interruptions from kids and wife but nothing too bad. until i was trying to chill the wort. I got thru the boil no problem, then added the wort to my fermenter and added the top off water that was chilled and it went down to 100*F immediately. Then came the hour and a half of trying to chill 5 gals of wort to pitch the yeast( i know I'm an idiot, why not chill the wort before adding the top off water! lesson learned) anyway by that point it was really late an i was tired. Wort was at 76*f and i said F*ck it and pitched the yeast and put it in my fermentation chamber. by the next morning it was happily at around 58*F so figured good i should be all set. Well i was wrong here i am 5 day and still no fermentation. Tonight i tried mixing up the wort and the year to try to reactivate it. so i'll see what comes of that. But was 78*F too high for a lager yeast?(don't know what yeast it was. Another lesson learned)
Anyone have any ideas?
the gravity is the same as brew day. I'm trying to lager this.
thanks for any help

How are you determining there is no fermentation? Can you post your OG and current gravity, just to be sure?

og and current is 1.058 and it was a dry yeast. no krausen visible at all. No airlock activity ( which means crap ). there should have been something by now. and the current temp of the wort is 55*F. recipie called for pitching at 60*F so i was a bit off, and it calls for 53*F-59*F fermenting ambient temp.