Nitrogen vs Co2

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jag75

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
Ok so my daughters took me to Firestone Walker brewery in paso . I didn't think I was a stout fan until I tried their Nitro Merlins stout . One thing i noticed is how smooth and frothy it was. I didn't realize how they did it until I decided to do a chocolate milk stout . I'm new to brewing and never even thought of the key word "Nitro". So now I'm curious about using Nitro instead of Co2 in stouts . Anyone with experience of using Nitro around here ?

From what I understand it’s not a complicated process but you will obviously need a different air tank, regulator and so on. If I recall you can’t use a CO2 regulator on a Nitro tank.

In short, I know it’s done just most folks don’t want to invest in equipment to run both a CO2 tank and a Nitro tank. I know in the restaurant world we can now choose to now beer gas which is a blend of nitrogen and CO2.

I found a tank, line and tap set up. Roughly 200-300$ . Yikes . I guess if one doesnt mind the carbonation in a stout it's ok, but that beer was fantastic. Just not sure I would do a lot of stouts as I'm an Ale kinda guy. Thanks for the quick response kapp

I found a tank, line and tap set up. Roughly 200-300$ . Yikes . I guess if one doesnt mind the carbonation in a stout it's ok, but that beer was fantastic. Just not sure I would do a lot of stouts as I'm an Ale kinda guy. Thanks for the quick response kapp
How about cold brew when not doing stouts? That is if you like coffee. There’s also nitro cream ale. People have recently been pouring IPA with nitro.