Newbie from Alaska (exiled in Texas)

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dancingbarefoot

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm a beginner in Houston, TX trying not to screw up my first batch. I've been meaning to try homebrewing for a while now, but I'm stranded in TX where it's hot! Now it's cooling down enough to where I can brew without worrying about the temp range.

My first attempt is a double stage stout. I can't wait to see the results! It's in the primary right now, bubbling away. :D

Don't forget to brew lots next spring. I've been in Houston in the summer, you can boil the wort by setting the pot on the sidewalk. I don't think even turbo yeasts could handle the heat.

Where abouts you at dbf? Some of us up in the northeast part of town are fixin to get a club started up.

david_42 said:
you can boil the wort by setting the pot on the sidewalk.

:D Ain't THAT the truth!

Club, you say? Oooh! If complete beginners are welcome, I just might have to join in. I'm in SW Houston, though (by the medical center).

dancingbarefoot said:
Club, you say? Oooh! If complete beginners are welcome, I just might have to join in. I'm in SW Houston, though (by the medical center).
I only know beginners, with but one exception. You're about 30 miles from me, but this being h-town that's pretty much next door.

welcome aboard. brew'n in the summer isn't too bad here. just
drink some h2o between homebrews so you don't face plant from dehydration :~)

the "houston" area members need to meet at Saint Arnolds or Two Rows for a few brews and lies. i helped brew a route 66 amber ale w/ ian at two rows a fews fridays ago. should be ready to drink around the 11th. any takers??????

OK... I'm confused. Is St. Arnolds a local Houston thing?