New to Kegging Foaming Problem

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Methose

Reaction score
I am completely new to kegging and just installed my taps last night.
This is the setup:
  • It's an old side by side Frigid-air.
  • It has 3x 4" stainless steel shanks with a 1/4" ID holes, and a 1/4" barbed stainless nipple attached.
  • I'm using 3/16" ID PVC Bevi(something) beer line which is 5' in length
  • A 4 way gas manifold 1/4" barbed
  • A 5# CO2 tank with single regulator (sits inside the fridge currently)
  • The taps are at the very top of the fridge door, so the taps are elevated approximately 4 feet above the kegs, if not a full 6 foot from the bottom of the kegs (sitting on the bottom of the fridge).
The system is currently set as such:
45 deg F, 10psi
I'm shooting for approximately 2.5 volumes of CO2

I have 2 ball lock Korney kegs hooked up and both have the same problem -nothing but foam.
Both beers taste rightly carbed, if not a little bit under carbed, if I drop the pressure to something like 2-3 psi and basically siphon the beer out of the keg into a glass with a picnic tap.

Please help, I'm pouring out foam of the two best batches of homebrew I've ever created :mad:

20130828_230539.jpg

I'd change out the 5' lines for 10-12' lines and you should be fixed right up.

If they are Bevflex brand (I think that's spelled right), I'd go even longer as they have less resistance than the perlick and other beer lines.

I'd change out the 5' lines for 10-12' lines and you should be fixed right up.

If they are Bevflex brand (I think that's spelled right), I'd go even longer as they have less resistance than the perlick and other beer lines.