New grower, asking harvesting and drying advice

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BlackForkHops

Reaction score
I have an old variety that we moved from growing up our old barn to a flower bed by the house to see if we could utilize and save it. This is the third year at this location and we had it analyzed to find out that it is Mid/Late Cluster. So I did harvest that sample a little early according to AARLab…
I wanted another 7-10 days and finished harvesting. I dried half on screens and half in an outdoor hanging herb dryer. What I’d like to know is…do these cones look right? I am totally new at this so need some expert eye to take a look. I did give the lupulin a taste and the bitter has stayed on my tongue for about 30 minutes.
Oh, and I didn’t realize I should have weighed the wet cones before drying so I have no idea what the moisture content is.
I’d just like some advice if anyone has anything helpful to say! Thanks!
BFH
Pictures: Wet vs. Dry

Attachments

• IMG_9798.jpeg
    IMG_9798.jpeg
    1.9 MB · Views: 0
  • IMG_0031.jpeg
    IMG_0031.jpeg
    2 MB · Views: 0
It is hard to tell with just a picture, but the Wet cones in your picture look a bit young to me (though I have only been growing hops for a few years). Your dried cones look about how I would expect dried cones to look like. One year I packed my dried cones into Ziploc bags (then used them a few months later). Last year I picked up a vacuum sealer (and just used the hops in a batch yesterday).