New England Hard Cider

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
New England Hard Cider Trial

I've started a cycling cornucopia of trial batches on variations of "New England Hard Cider". I'm hoping to try all and any variants on this type of cider. If you have any suggestions or recipes or even just little tid bits you've heard regarding New England Hard Cider please let me know!

I'm by no means an expert on New England Hard Cider, (I live over 1000 miles away) but I like the "idea" behind the description of the style. I think in this day and age, styles pretty much "have no borders". People in Peoria are producing keeved cider. People in Adelaide are producing Farmhouse Cider.

My methods include Brown Sugar and Raisins mainly because when I first started making cider the method that appealed to me included those ingredients. I always envisioned New England Cider as an apple forward ale type beverage with a hint of molasses or caramel from brown sugar. But I also know that the apple blend will play a bigger role in the style.

There is not much empirical information on the New England cider style but we do know that it existed and was relatively common at the time. The two elements of the cider that we can be certain of is (1) an additional fortification with some type of sugar - often molasses or maple syrup - and (2) a secondary fermentation with raisins. The raisins are a key component of the style as they both provided extra tannins and wild yeast for the secondary fermentation.

The best published references to the style are Ben Watson's Cider Hard and Sweet as well as Sanborn Brown's Wines and Beers of Old New England