Neighbor has a huge, healthy fig tree-- how can we put it to use?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JoePro

Reaction score
So, my neighbor owns this little green space in the middle of our little hood, and they grow all sorts of wonderful things there-- apples, some pears, figs, raspberries.

I'm new to homebrewing, but I'd like to say I have a refined palette. I would think that Figs and ginger would go really well together, but I have no idea about a base recipe.

Could you guys help me figure this one out?

Neighbor has a huge, healthy fig tree

Is that what the kids are calling it now days? *nudge nudge wink wink*

Seriously, not sure how to go about utilizing figs. I've only ever had them dried. But it sounds like a great adventure to try to blend something. Somehow, figs and a nutty brown ale sounds pretty good to me. Not sure about the ginger in that combi, though.

There's a killer technique for using figs. Brew a BDSA. When it's done fermenting, super heat a wok over a burner. Caramelize the figs in the wok, then deglaze with some of the beer. Add all that to a secondary and rack the beer from primary on to it.

There's a killer technique for using figs. Brew a BDSA. When it's done fermenting, super heat a wok over a burner. Caramelize the figs in the wok, then deglaze with some of the beer. Add all that to a secondary and rack the beer from primary on to it.

Oh my deer, sweet jesus...

I don't think I can compete with Denny's suggestion, but canning some fig preserves to use as a glaze for lamb chops or similar cuts (or dessert toppings) is friggin outstanding.

BDSA with figs sounds damn good.

What kind of fig tree is it, BTW? Several different varieties that produce significantly different flavor profiles.