• We have a new forum and it needs your help! Homebrewing Deals is a forum to post whatever deals and specials you find that other homebrewers might value! Includes coupon layering, Craigslist finds, eBay finds, Amazon specials, etc.

Native ESP8266 BrewPi Firmware - WiFi BrewPi, no Arduino needed!

HomeBrewTalk.com - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Community.

Help Support Homebrew Talk:

Joined
Feb 28, 2019
Messages
15
Reaction score
1
Thanks Thorrak! I will order it from Amazon and try it out! Worse comes to worse I can just return it, too easy to do with Amazon. :) I need to buy you a beer or something!
 

Deric

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Joined
Dec 14, 2011
Messages
186
Reaction score
48
Location
Marysville
I think there is a post here somewhere that addresses my question but I can't find it...

I built my controller and setup Fermentrack on my home wifi network. Will be moving it to my brother's house where we actually brew/ferment. I'm pretty sure I'll have no issues connecting Fermentrack to his wifi but I recall that getting the ESP8266 controller connected may be an issue. Any help, tips or suggestions appreciated.

Thanks! :mug:
 
OP
T

Thorrak

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Joined
Feb 7, 2016
Messages
2,350
Reaction score
1,255
Location
New York, NY
I think there is a post here somewhere that addresses my question but I can't find it...

I built my controller and setup Fermentrack on my home wifi network. Will be moving it to my brother's house where we actually brew/ferment. I'm pretty sure I'll have no issues connecting Fermentrack to his wifi but I recall that getting the ESP8266 controller connected may be an issue. Any help, tips or suggestions appreciated.

Thanks! :mug:
You have two options that I can think of offhand:

1. Before dismantling your setup to move it, click the "Reset WiFi Settings" button for the controller within Fermentrack
2. Flash the "wiring test" firmware to the controller & let it complete the test run. As part of the testing, it resets the WiFi settings.

Either should return the controller to the "default" state where it pops up an AP to be configured, and can then be connected to your brother's WiFi network
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2019
Messages
15
Reaction score
1
Short answer: Maybe!

Long answer: If the schematic on this page is correct, it looks like the M5 stack and D32 Pro have the same chipset & pinouts for the TFT screen. You don't have a touch screen so the "wifi reset" functionality won't work, but I could always add support for one of the M5's buttons. If you are willing to take a risk with the M5 and the screen/bluetooth work, let me know and I'll add it to the documentation!
Hi Thorrak, I flashed the M5 stack and it seems to be working. I am able to view my tilt in the Fermentrack dashboard. The only thing that isn't working is the M5 stack screen. It is just blank and not displaying any information. Any ideas why it is not displaying any of the information on the M5 stack itself?
Thanks!
 
OP
T

Thorrak

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Joined
Feb 7, 2016
Messages
2,350
Reaction score
1,255
Location
New York, NY
Hi Thorrak, I flashed the M5 stack and it seems to be working. I am able to view my tilt in the Fermentrack dashboard. The only thing that isn't working is the M5 stack screen. It is just blank and not displaying any information. Any ideas why it is not displaying any of the information on the M5 stack itself?
Thanks!
That’s.. weird? I assume you used the TFT beta firmware?
 
OP
T

Thorrak

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Joined
Feb 7, 2016
Messages
2,350
Reaction score
1,255
Location
New York, NY
Man, looks like I really screwed up. I didn't have the sd card in the m5 when I tried to flash it again. Then my whole fermentrack went down. I am now reinstalling fermentrack but I seem to be stuck on
Running setup.py install for pyzmq: still running

and it is hung up on that, and keeps saying the same thing.

Is there a way to fix this and install fermentrack correctly?
Thanks!
Hmm - You shouldn't need (or have) an SD card to be in the M5 when you flash it. The SD card is an optional feature that can be implemented with firmware - TiltBridge doesn't store anything, so it doesn't use it.

I'm very surprised your Fermentrack install died as a result of you flashing your M5. Unless you pulled the power to the Pi (or did something that would have impacted your Pi's SD card) it shouldn't be impacted.

PyZMQ can take awhile to install with the way that I have the scripts set up. Same with numpy. "Awhile" is relative - On a Pi 3 I think it clocked in at like ~15-20 mins. If you're running on a Pi Zero, it could take -much- longer.

Mainly, my recommendation is "just be patient".
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2019
Messages
15
Reaction score
1
You are right about patience, I am just being anxious. So I got it to install the fermentrack on the pi3 again. Got it all setup and went to flash the M5 again with the TFT beta and it gave an error again, and said there is not enough space. It gave a number saying there is not enough space. I didn't unplug my Pi or anything during the flash. Then the Fermentrack says cannot display lcd text for my arduino.
 
OP
T

Thorrak

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Joined
Feb 7, 2016
Messages
2,350
Reaction score
1,255
Location
New York, NY
You are right about patience, I am just being anxious. So I got it to install the fermentrack on the pi3 again. Got it all setup and went to flash the M5 again with the TFT beta and it gave an error again, and said there is not enough space. It gave a number saying there is not enough space. I didn't unplug my Pi or anything during the flash. Then the Fermentrack says cannot display lcd text for my arduino.
Ok. Give me a few. That means the M5 has less than 16MB of flash. Annoying, but a surmountable obstacle thanks to the new Bluetooth stack.
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2019
Messages
15
Reaction score
1
Awesome, thanks! I will test it and report back.
Still gave the same error.
Anything special I should have done to make sure I was flashing your updated code?
Here is the error:
b'esptool.py v2.8\nSerial port /dev/ttyUSB0\nConnecting....\nChip is ESP32D0WDQ6 (revision 1)\nFeatures: WiFi, BT, Dual Core, 240MHz, VRef calibration in efuse, Coding Scheme None\nCrystal is 40MHz\nMAC: 98:f4:ab:6b:20:3c\nUploading stub...\nRunning stub...\nStub running...\nChanging baud rate to 460800\nChanged.\nConfiguring flash size...\nAuto-detected Flash size: 4MB\n\nA fatal error occurred: File /home/fermentrack/fermentrack/firmware_flash/firmware/ESP32 - TiltBridge BETA - v0.2r -- TFT - spiffs.bin (length 983040) at offset 9502720 will not fit in 4194304 bytes of flash. Use --flash-size argument, or change flashing address.\n'
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2019
Messages
15
Reaction score
1
Good news is that is successfully flashed! But now I cannot see it in my wifi list when I try to go set it up to connect to my network. The screen did turn on though, the text on it was mirrored. I had to hold it up to the mirror to read it lol!
 

Attachments

OP
T

Thorrak

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Joined
Feb 7, 2016
Messages
2,350
Reaction score
1,255
Location
New York, NY
Good news is that is successfully flashed! But now I cannot see it in my wifi list when I try to go set it up to connect to my network. The screen did turn on though, the text on it was mirrored. I had to hold it up to the mirror to read it lol!
The reason that you don't see the WiFi network pop up is that it saved your WiFi connection settings and is already connected to your network. (Hence the IP address in your photo ;) )

I just built a custom M5 stack version of the firmware which might fix that. If you refresh your firmware list from Fermentrack.com, you should see a new variant of the TiltBridge Beta firmware called "M5 Stack". Flash that, and let me know how your screen looks.

Admittedly, this is going to be trial and error to get the rotation correct since i don't have one of these at the moment. :)
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2019
Messages
15
Reaction score
1
Thanks! I refreshed the firmware and flashed the M5 stack version. I am still seeing the mirrored info. At this point should it not be displaying the info from the tilt rather then the network info? It is in proximity to my tilt.
 

Attachments

Joined
Apr 29, 2018
Messages
10
Reaction score
1
I'm late to the update party.
When trying to update using the command line I get a command not found?
Running Version 9 Strech

curl -L "https://raw.githubusercontent.com/thorrak/fermentrack-tools/master/fix-environment.sh" | sudo bash
% Total % Received % Xferd Average Speed Time Time Time Current
Dload Upload Total Spent Left Speed
100 7972 100 7972 0 0 17362 0 --:--:-- --:--:-- --:--:-- 17368
::: Verifying free disk space...

::: Checking for Internet connection:
::: Internet connection Success!

::: Reinstalling dependencies using apt-get
::: apt is updated - Triggering install of all packages.
main: line 42: warn: command not found
 
OP
T

Thorrak

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Joined
Feb 7, 2016
Messages
2,350
Reaction score
1,255
Location
New York, NY
I'm late to the update party.
When trying to update using the command line I get a command not found?
Running Version 9 Strech

curl -L "https://raw.githubusercontent.com/thorrak/fermentrack-tools/master/fix-environment.sh" | sudo bash
% Total % Received % Xferd Average Speed Time Time Time Current
Dload Upload Total Spent Left Speed
100 7972 100 7972 0 0 17362 0 --:--:-- --:--:-- --:--:-- 17368
::: Verifying free disk space...

::: Checking for Internet connection:
::: Internet connection Success!

::: Reinstalling dependencies using apt-get
::: apt is updated - Triggering install of all packages.
main: line 42: warn: command not found
There are two issues here --

The first issue (and more important one) is that one of the four "apt-get" commands didn't succeed for some reason. If you log into your Pi via SSH and run the following four commands, one will (potentially) fail:

sudo apt-get install -y git-core build-essential nginx redis-server avrdude
sudo apt-get install -y bluez libcap2-bin libbluetooth3 libbluetooth-dev
sudo apt-get install -y python3-venv python3-dev
sudo apt-get install -y python3-scipy python3-numpy


If they all succeed, then you're good to go - re-run the fix-environment script and you should be fine.

The second issue is that I didn't rename the "warn" command which gets called when one of those lines fails. That has now been corrected in the fix-environment script.
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2018
Messages
10
Reaction score
1
There are two issues here --

The first issue (and more important one) is that one of the four "apt-get" commands didn't succeed for some reason. If you log into your Pi via SSH and run the following four commands, one will (potentially) fail:

sudo apt-get install -y git-core build-essential nginx redis-server avrdude
sudo apt-get install -y bluez libcap2-bin libbluetooth3 libbluetooth-dev
sudo apt-get install -y python3-venv python3-dev
sudo apt-get install -y python3-scipy python3-numpy


If they all succeed, then you're good to go - re-run the fix-environment script and you should be fine.

The second issue is that I didn't rename the "warn" command which gets called when one of those lines fails. That has now been corrected in the fix-environment script.
Thanks Thorrak- (I'm sure your time is more valabule than solving my lack of linux knowledge)

I get the following error with all the "apt-get" commands
The following packages have unmet dependencies:
redis-server : Depends: redis-tools (= 3:3.2.6-3+deb9u3) but 3:3.2.6-3+deb9u1 is to be installed
E: Unmet dependencies. Try 'apt --fix-broken install' with no packages (or specify a solution).


Re-running the python 3.7 script, i get-
% Total % Received % Xferd Average Speed Time Time Time Current
Dload Upload Total Spent Left Speed
100 7977 100 7977 0 0 5971 0 0:00:01 0:00:01 --:--:-- 5975
::: Verifying free disk space...

::: Checking for Internet connection:
::: Internet connection Success!

::: Reinstalling dependencies using apt-get
::: apt is updated - Triggering install of all packages.
*** WARNING:
[email protected]:~ $


Back reading, it might be a bit eaiser to just clean install with buster.
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2019
Messages
15
Reaction score
1
The reason that you don't see the WiFi network pop up is that it saved your WiFi connection settings and is already connected to your network. (Hence the IP address in your photo ;) )

I just built a custom M5 stack version of the firmware which might fix that. If you refresh your firmware list from Fermentrack.com, you should see a new variant of the TiltBridge Beta firmware called "M5 Stack". Flash that, and let me know how your screen looks.

Admittedly, this is going to be trial and error to get the rotation correct since i don't have one of these at the moment. :)
Well, was worth a shot, I moved on to just a basic cheap ttgo esp32 just so I can setup TiltBridge. Glad to have my Tilt logging back in my Fermentrack dialog! Thanks for all of your hard work Thorrak!
 

bdogg171

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2012
Messages
159
Reaction score
34
Location
Houston
Forgive me if the answer is here and I'm just missing it, but will this or any version of Brewpi or Fermatrack work with a Feather and Ethernet shield?
 

Julian537

Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2018
Messages
24
Reaction score
4
Setting up Fermentrack for a fellow brewer. Fresh install of Fermentrack on a pi3, today. I have tried to flash 3 different esp8266 and an esp32. Fermentrack will not recognize any of the devices in auto detection, so I can flash them. I have never had this issue before. Is there a software issue with the current update?
 
OP
T

Thorrak

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Joined
Feb 7, 2016
Messages
2,350
Reaction score
1,255
Location
New York, NY
Setting up Fermentrack for a fellow brewer. Fresh install of Fermentrack on a pi3, today. I have tried to flash 3 different esp8266 and an esp32. Fermentrack will not recognize any of the devices in auto detection, so I can flash them. I have never had this issue before. Is there a software issue with the current update?
ESP32 aren't supported (yet) for flashing BrewPi firmware to - only TiltBridge.

What ESP8266 boards are you using? Please link the exact board you bought -- there are a lot of knock-offs out there.
 

Julian537

Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2018
Messages
24
Reaction score
4
Thorrak,

I am using Wemos D1 mini ESP8266. I have 5 of them and two of them are already setup. I have tried to flash the other 3 and Fermentrack software will not recognize the boards. I also tried to flash the ESP32 for a tilt bridge, Fermentrack will not recognize it either. The two ESP8266 that I flashed, were in a previous version of Fermentrack.
 
Top