My newb reflections

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gurrback

Reaction score
Having completed only three brew sessions, I would like to share a few observations with my fellow newb-brewers. These anecdotes are not meant to expertly instruct, but rather inform or warn rookie brewers like myself of some of the problems I have run in to thus far.

Most of my observations are based on a desire to make the process simpler/easier/more efficient/more sanitary, etc. These may not be the right methods, but they have so far helped ME in a few situations. I welcome discussion/corrections/tips from more experienced brewers!

1. Hop bags: I've brewed and dry hopped without bags, and as a rookie I have found it challenging to efficiently, and in a sanitary manner, rack and bottle beer with hop gunk floating around.

2. Yeast starters: they are not that hard to make (instructions readily available on youtube, on these forums, etc) and greatly increase the likelihood of a strong, full fermentation. I have been under pitching and, with one beer in particular, paid the price. Eliminate this from your list of potential slip ups!

3. No rinse sanitizer. In certain situations, it's incredibly difficult for an inexperienced brewer such as myself to maintain sanitization with tools, carboys, etc., if you are forced to sanitize, rinse, and dry. With a no-rinse option you can cut a few of those steps out (not to mention a spray bottle is just faster and easier), decreasing the likelihood of infection.

4. Blow off tubes. They are SO easy to make and such a no-brainer. It won't make your brew session any more complicated but it WILL save your beer in the event of an aggressive fermentation.