Complete Newb to Homebrew

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

user 337266

Reaction score
I am completely new to home brew other than helping my dad put caps on bottles when I was a kid. I have been watching a ton of youtube videos. I bought a used Northern Brewer Deluxe kit that included a Catalyst fermentation system. Im kind of overwhelmed thinking I need more equipment to make it way easier such as corny kegs and a immersion chiller. Would you recommend getting these items first or just go for it?

Assuming you got everything which originally came with that starter kit about the only thing that would be nice to have at this point would be a wort chiller. Also a hydrometer and/or a refractometer if you don’t have anything to measure specific gravity.

Almost everyone starts out bottling. And almost everyone, who continues brewing on a regular basis, decides that bottling is a PITA and starts kegging. But that’s an entirely different rabbit hole. :cool:

Welcome to the hobby, welcome to HBT, and good luck! Ask a lot of questions here, there’s about a thousand years of collective brewing experience to tap into.

+1. Home brewing can be very simple or rocket science complex, so it's OK to start with the basics and to use kits to become familiar with the process. Over time you can address different aspects of brewing to become more precise as you start to dial in specific characteristics.

I made a post the other day about Northern Brewer and their how to videos as an effective starting place.

I would agree that a wort chiller is a huge plus since it cuts down a lot of brew day time. If you want to save money, check out the DIY videos using copper refrigerator line, some hoses and coupling all available on the shelves of the big home and garden stores.