My beer isnt as flavorful as I had hoped...

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bjzelectric

Reaction score
I am new to homebrewing and have been using the brewers best equipment and ingredient kits. My first batch was a pale ale, I didnt strain the wort. I got some trub in the primary and the batch was a little bitter, even for a p.a. I strained my next two batches as i poured the wort into the primary and both batches came out o.k. but not as flavorful as i hoped. I also sanitzed with bleach on these 2 batches and I am wondering if it was the straining or the bleach. I used a good amount of bleach but it was in a bathtub full of water. Any info will be much appreciated.

I don't think either the bleach or the trub was the culprit. I'd be guessing here, but I think your kits weren't really fresh. They may have been sitting on the shelf for a while, and that makes a big difference. Still tasty, but not as flavorful.

Do you order online, or do you have a homebrew store locally? Fresh ingredients will make a huge difference, if you can order (or locally purchase) freshly crushed grain and fresh malt extract and hops.

Yea I have a great homebrew shop 10 minutes away and it seems they have a fairly quick turnaround on the kits. Oh well, I guess I should start all grain brewing soon anyway. Thanks for the input.

Can you elaborate on what you consider "flavorful", i.e. what specifically you are looking for that these kits do not seem to be giving you? Such as "more body" or "more maltiness" or "more hop flavor".

I was looking for more body. This recipe wasnt designed to be hoppy but it lacked in maltiness too. Overall it was carbonated and brownish in color and even had a pretty good beer smell but the taste just wasnt there.