Moving from Homebrewer to Probrewer: Doing the research for a Brewpub, need resources

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cannman

Beer Theorist
Reaction score
Ah! The dreaded topic...

First and foremost, I'm posting this so that I can approach the reality of Brewpub ownership properly, correctly, and realistically. I'm a scientist by trade, have business management experience (including accounting and payroll experience), have the financial resources to "do things right", and have given myself a 2 year/24 month time period to discover, learn, and prepare for the groundbreaking that will be our brewpub.

``````````````````````````````````````````````````````````

When I first got into homebrewing, I researched the process, discovered what books to read, signed up on this forum, listened to thebrewingnetwork.com, watched youtube how-tos, and ONLY THEN invested in some brewing equipment and an extract kit after learning the process. After I found my first batch drinkable, I slowly started upgrading my equipment piece by piece, and even today, I'm still upgrading 4 years later (little things, 100% Quick Disconnects on every port is the current project). Today I put out about 180 gallons a year, run a brew club, and just started entering competitions. Later this year I plan on testing for BJCP judge and earn my first level with Cicerone as Beer Server.