Moving from 1gal. (Brooklyn BrewShop) to larger batches

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JizzyJo

Reaction score
I've had a quick search, so apologies if it's out there already. I've been a lurker on these forums, helping me with my first two brews, so thanks already!

I'm very new to this whole brewing thing. Like, very new. But I'm enjoying it. Currently using those nifty little Brooklyn BrewShop kits, which are a great 1st step. However, they're pretty small, obviously, and I was thinking of "upgrading" to larger batches. Probably 3gal.

A few Q's and issues:

1) I have a small electric hob only, so I already find myself short of space and heating "power" when just doing 1gal batches. Is it pretty tough managing to do a 3gal batch indoors?

2) What sort of equipment is needed for a larger brew? Are there 3gal kits like the BBS kits? Any recommended kits?

3) I really like "hassle-free" routes. Don't hate me, but I'd probably be willing to take a hit on perfection in order to maximise convenience. So anything to help always good.

I'm thinking that actually, the easier solution is just to keep up with the 1gal brews but doing them more frequently due to issue 1 above. I dunno. Perhaps you lovely lot can convince me otherwise.

Thank in advance.

(I live in the UK if that has any bearing on things)

I can't say to your heating. My stove will do 3 gallons easily.

Do you have a homebrew shop near you? If so I am sure they will help you put together a kit for 3 gallons.

An internet search might lead you to a supplier that makes 3 gallon kits, a search here will give US stores.