Mash Temp Control

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LandoLando

Reaction score
Hi, this is my second post. The first post was apparently in the wrong sub forum. I've been brewing for about 5 years now. I'm a process engineer so it follows that I am curse with an insatiable desire for process control.

I have a 14 gallon kettle with a valve on the bottom. I also have a 10000 BTU/hr heating element from a hot tub. I want to install the heating element inline with a Brau inline pump and control the temp with a thermistor, 50A solid state relay, and Arduino microcontroller. The plan is to bring the mash water within 5 F of mash temp with my burner, and then run the pump and heater to control the temp. Add the grain once the mash water is at the appropriate temp and let her rip.

Any concerns?

Are the Bräu pumps quality?

If i have a constant whirlpool can i trust that the temp is uniform throughout the mash?

Any one do multiple step infusions with a similar setup?

Sounds very reasonable. 10k BTU/hr is about 3kW, so that's plenty of power to do a step mash. I am not familiar with the Brau but it should work fine. It's plastic, low power, and inexpensive, so don't expect Chugger/March performance, but many here are using similar pumps successfully. With your Arduino control, you can also use PWM to control their flow rate. I assume you will write a PID algorithm to perform the heating. I suggest you build in a safety to make sure the power is cut to the heater if flow ceases.

Edit: yes, the whole point of recirculation is to maintain consistent temps throughout the mash volume.