Make 2 batches with 1 10 gallon kettle

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bctdi

Reaction score
I'm doing a 1.051 cream ale with an 11 lb grain bill. I have a 48 qt cooler mash tun and a 10 gallon kettle. I would like double this recipe and get 2 5 gallon batches for 2 seperate fermenters. I want them both to be the same beer.I've read about partigyle brewing , but that seems to be more about getting 2 different beers out of 1 batch. Would it be feasable to just double my grain bill and mash / sparge till I get my normal boil volume , then dilute with water after the boil to bring my gravity back down to 1.051? I've never tried this before and it seems like it should work out, but not sure about scaling up the hop additions or how much water to dilute with to get my target gravity. Anyone have any experience doing it this way?

You should be able to do exactly what you wanted the first time around. The only issue I see is if your kettle is on only 10 gal, you wont be able to boil down the same way. You just have to add water to make your final volume. A 48qt cooler is more than enough to make 10 gal batches and if you going to 10 gal batches a keggle is a good way to go for a pot, 14 gal will fit, all be it a little tight. As for hop additions just calculate based on your new volume.