Lucky night !

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bass0721

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
What a great night! Last night I went to my local brewery (as always) and was talking to the owner. He has always asked me when I was going to open my own brewery. I give him the same answer every time. I am still in the military (24 years) and have 3 years left till I can retire. Like everyone in here it's my dream to have my own place. I have been brewing for about 14 years now. He has had my stuff on tap and it seems to be enjoyed. Always goes quick. Last night he was telling me of an opportunity that I don't think I can pass up. There is a tavern in the next town over who just has their only brewer walk out. I was sitting with a few friends, one is a retired military and one used to be on the town counsel. The owner told me that the guy that owns this tavern just wants to have beer flowing again. So I guess the bottom line is this. After meeting with the tavern owner we found out that he will rent the entire brewery out for only $200 a month. I will have to keep 3 on tap for him with his name ( he will buy it from us). It is a complete 10 bbl system with everything to include 3 pallets of malt and 12 cases of hops. I will brew every Wednesday night, and also work on the weekends. It seems too good to be true. Right place at the right time. There is also a distribution agreement with microstarr. Looks like I have a second job now.

$200/ month seems weird. Is that just for hardware or is rent included? Will you be an employee or a business owner?

Anyway, good luck. Do you have control over recipes?