Long time, First time.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

soboness5

Reaction score
Hey everyone!

I've been lurking for years, and posting for a few weeks so it is probably time that I officially introduce myself.

My name is Justin - i'm from Eastern PA and started brewing while I was going to Muhlenberg College up in Allentown. For those keeping track, that's where Sam Calagione, founder of Dogfish Head, went to college...though a few years earlier than me. If nothing else, I feel it adds a few style points. Also originating from college was the name of my (and my buddy's) 'brewery' name - "Dry House Brewing". Ironically, I started brewing beer while I lived in a "dry" fraternity house. Cocky? Maybe...but somehow I never got caught and it is now a great story and name for my brewing operation. Much better than the name my friends all called it: 'Dirty Laundry Brewery' since I kept the fermenter right next to my laundry basket.

Ever since starting to brew I've come across HBT threads which have answered endless, and sometimes dumb, questions. For that, I thank you (yes, you!). I wouldn't be where I am with my brewing capabilities without the community - so i am VERY grateful.

Most recently, I went through the process of upgrading to a 9gal brew kettle, outdoor burner, and a homemade MLT. I brewed up my first all-grain brew last sunday and it is fermenting away...overshot my target gravity...so I guess the MLT worked better than I gave it credit for.

Anyway, i'll stop rambling - thanks again for all the great info! :tank: