Lagering: essential advice!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mobeers

Reaction score
So I plan in brewing a helles (biermunchers Helles Belles) in a week or two and this will be my first ever lager. I have been brewing for 4 years and want to take the leap. I've read the Lagering book by noonan and it was full if great stuff but figured is ask here. What would be one essential technique or tip to follow. I'm nervous to do a lager and want to make a good one. I plan to use wl830 and have temp control available. I brew 4 gallon all grain. Recipe advice aside, what would be one thing to focus on. Actually any Lagering advice is appreciated emensly. Thanks

Sent from my iPhone using Home Brew

Pitch enough yeast as suggested. Maybe even buy enough grain and hops for 5 gallons. Do a one gallon stovetop batch then use the slurry.

Keep ferment temps around 50 and dont pitch warm. Cool it down first.

When your airlock slows allow your beer warm. D-rest.

You may want to bottle before lagering if you're hurting for a place to lager a carboy. This also aids in quicker carbonation as the yeast are fresh and more are in suspension

Suckback is a real thing, and a 5 gallon batch has a lot of power. Read about it and figure out what works best for you. I find that it's best for me to use a blowoff tube into an empty clean jug, placing the tube at the neck of the jug as opposed to the bottom, and emptying the jug when it gets full. I'm also new at lagering so there might be a better way.

Match the temp of the yeast you are pitching to your wort, and make sure that the wort is at least in the low 60's.