just starting out... note taking

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

slatorian

Reaction score
hey, so i'm just beginning the homebrew thing and something that i want to do is to take notes along the way to see how my batches progress. just wondering if anybody here has input as to what to take notes on to improve future batches. waiting for the 1st brew to ferment as I type :ban:
thanks for the input everybody! really entering this new interest of mine with fervor :rockin:

For every batch I write down the grain bill, hops in oz, yeast, if I made a starter, how much water at what temperature I used, notes during the mash including times and the full long hand breakdown of my calculations for color, gravity, and bitterness, as well as beginning and final gravity with tasting notes. I have arranged these into two columns at the top of the left page consisting of grain on the left and a vertical list of hops and yeast on the right with notes on mashing horizontaly below those two. On the right page I write all my math in a specific order which is arbitrary, just consistent on the top half of the page. Everything else fits on the bottom half of both pages.