First Fermentation with a Tilt - Questions

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Langerz

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I got a tilt recently and this is my first full brew using it. I actually threw it in on my last beer but when it came in the mail fermentation was complete so it just sat at FG for a few days and wasn't very exciting. I'm an engineer (nerd) and was excited about getting data more often and being able to not open the fermenter to take readings. I'm a bit surprised by the data though.

Bit of background. This is a pretty simple blonde ale I brewed to experiment with a few process things (first time kegging and new to being able to control fermentation temps). Grain bill is mostly xtra pale ale and golden promise with a bit of wheat, flaked barley and honey malt. Liberty hops all in the boil. I had a bit of an issue on brew day and ended up going over my OG target and was at 1.057 measured by hydrometer (not sure the issue, but I think I measured preboil gravity without letting the wort cool and then adjusted with DME - I swear I let it cool but that's the only explanation I have). Yeast is Lalbrew Verdant. I ferment in a glass big mouth bubbler in my basement.

Note I do not have the tilt connected to anything real time yet so readings happen mostly morning and evening when I am near by and check in with my ipad.