Jacketed Unitank—X2 v BrewTools F Series

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I’m hoping to jump to glycol ferm and more. I lucked out on a heck of a deal on a BB Icemaster 4. The X2 and F Series look like a goal. The latter seems much pricier, but may include more. Has anyone compared final cost and performance between the two geared out for common wants/gear? 10G batch size goals. I’m fairly new to this form so if there is a better place for me to place this, please let me know.

Still torn. For $900 less, I could add several items to the X2. In the 14G models, the F80 is about 30 pounds heavier, and it seems more sturdy. No passivation needed on the F80 is attractive too. Has anyone used both or have regrets for either?

I'm not seeing that the X2 is jacketed. This would be 90% of the price difference.

3C952AE5-0811-49F2-BECC-A3F547F0B41B.png

3C952AE5-0811-49F2-BECC-A3F547F0B41B.png
Definitely jacketed.

I recently purchased the 7 gallon X2 jacketed fermenter. My reasons for choosing it may be different from yours. I currently have 2) 27L and 1) 55L Fermzillas. I like certain parts of their design. I do like the collection chamber and I like the floating dip tube. These are features that the X2 has that do not seem available with the Brewtools.