Is my temp controller possibly defective?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Metallion66

Reaction score
First off, hello everyone. I've been lurking here a bit but haven't really posted. I'm still new to homebrewing, barely on our third batch. And I recently purchased a freezer and a temp controller (for fermenting but will also turn it into a keezer soon).

Anyways so I'm at work right now so can't really spend time to call the homebrew shop I bought the controller from so thought I would ask here. I'm thinking this thing is either defective, or I am some how doing something really wrong.

I am using a Brewers Edge Digital Controller II. I have it set for 69 degrees, with a 3 degree differential. However for some reason the display shows my temp going from 69 to 55 sometimes. And it seems to go back and forth at least once an hour. And other thermometers I stuck in there seem to agree with the temp the controller is reading. I've kept an eye on my beer thats fermenting, and luckily that has stayed pretty steady. But it still bugs me that the temp is dropping so much, or at least reading that it is.

I tried putting the sensor both in a glass of water, and right now I just have it reading the air. What boggles my mind is that it gets colder. I mean, if I had a gap of air or something, shouldn't the freezer if anything be getting warmer. Any idea what could be causing this? Or should I just straight up see about getting it exchanged?

All your thoughts are very much appreciated.

My first thought is you should have the probe measureing the temp of the beer, afterall that is what matters.