Is my first batch doing okay?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I just started my first batch of 1 gal. of mead a few days ago, and so far, it is not fermenting as fast as I expected it to (it's releasing a bubble every 7-8 seconds). I'm used about a third of a packet of Lalvin EC-1118 and 4 lbs of honey in my batch. For reference, I have a batch of cider going that is using the same type and amount of yeast, and it is bubbling at about 1 bubble every second. Is this normal?

Did you use nutrients, and are you degassing?
I did not put any nutrients in; it's just water, honey, and yeast. As for degassing, the mead has only been in primary for a few days, so I am not degassing, if that is what you meant (I'm new to brewing, so I don't know all of the brewing vernacular).

Degassing is stirring the must to release CO2.

Did you aerate the must by shaking vigorously prior to adding the yeast?
Did you you rehydrate your yeast or sprinkle it in dry?
Do you have a hydrometer to take specific gravity readings?

4 lbs of honey per gal of mead is quite a lot and I suspect your yeast is a bit overwhelmed in trying to get started. Not only that but they are going to be nutrient/nitrogen deficient as they attempt to replicate and handle this amount of sugar.

If you do a search for "TOSNA 3.0" you will find lots of useful information on good mead making techniques. Give it a quick read, come back to this thread with questions and there are many here who will be able to help you in getting this batch to a good end.