Is a protein rest needed for 6-row?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Nails111

Reaction score
I just ordered a recipe kit from AIH, with the base malt being 6-row. Here’s the grain bill:

9lbs 6-row
2lbs flaked maize
.4374lbs acid malt

I have never used 6-row before, but read it can produce haze due high protein levels. For those of you who are familiar with using 6-row, would you recommend a protein rest? If so, how long and at what temp?

Thanks for your help.

Cream Ale FTW! I've never needed a protein rest with 6-row. I've been told that with well-modified malt, a protein rest is almost never needed, and that the only reason you would want to mash at ~120 F was for a hefeweizen.

I have never used 6-row before, but read it can produce haze due high protein levels.
Untrue.

For those of you who are familiar with using 6-row, would you recommend a protein rest?
No.

I've been told that with well-modified malt, a protein rest is almost never needed, and that the only reason you would want to mash at ~120 F was for a hefeweizen.
Correct, although the necessity of a ferulic acid rest for weissbier is debatable.

Cheers

Untrue.

No.

Correct, although the necessity of a ferulic acid rest for weissbier is debatable.

Cheers
Thanks for the reply. Just to clarify (no pun intended), are you saying 6-row having higher protein levels is untrue, or that it can cause more haze is untrue, or both? Just trying to understand. Thanks again.

Sorry, I should have been more clear. A higher protein level does not create haze. Phenolic content is generally the limiting factor in creating the most common type of haze, which is formed by protein-polyphenol aggregation, often associated with oxidation.