I need to Kill

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

heyvail

Reaction score
I am new to the idea of killing yeasties and such(kegging and force carbing). What are the best things for me to start searching/researching?? I've been out of the game for awhile and I have forgot some things. Help!!

Just give the beer a month or so, it should drop clear, then rack into the keg, chill and set to the desired pressure, no need to kill off anything, they will drop out over time, and finish clearing in the keg if it wasnt already clear.

Oops, forgot to mention that I would like to back sweeten certain things, like ciders and lambic for example.

Campden tablets. Doesn't kill the yeast, but will inhibit it's growth...which is really all you're after here. It's commonly used in wine making.

Campden tablets. Doesn't kill the yeast, but will inhibit it's growth...which is really all you're after here. It's commonly used in wine making.

Thats not campden tablets, it's either sodium or potasium metabisulphite, I can't remember which. But like you said , it still doesn't kill them

I thought Campden tablets are potassium metabisulfite or sodium metabisulfite.

But either way, Campden or any other stabilizer used in wine making should work for you.

Campden has no effect on yeast.

Really? I thought it did, or at least it inhibited their ability to grow. I thought that's why you needed to wait 24 hours after treating your water with campden prior to pitching.

Good to know.

Really? I thought it did, or at least it inhibited their ability to grow. I thought that's why you needed to wait 24 hours after treating your water with campden prior to pitching.

Good to know.

No, it's the other one that does that.