I missed my og... by a lot.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Etxbrewer

Reaction score
Okay, so I am VERY new to brewing and this is my first post on hbt. Today I was attempting to brew my first partial mash... kind of. The recipe read more like a extract brew with 1.75 lbs of malt. Og was expected to be 1.079, I got 1.04... missed it by THIS much, lol.

1.0 lbs crystal 120l
0.5 lbs Munich
0.25 lbs chocolate
6.6 lbs bries golden light lme
1 lb bries Bavaria wheat DME
1 oz northern brewer (60 min)
1 oz Hallertau (20 min)
3/8 tsp irish moss (15 min)
Yeast nutrient (15 min)
12 oz maple syrup (0 min)
Safale us-05

So, I bought some voile, brought 2 gallons of water up to 155, mashed in. My temperature control was horrible, it dropped down to 140 before I knew it. So I turned the burnet back on (steamer to keep the grain off the heat) and brought it back to 155. All told, it was probably above 150 for 45 mins. I then heated it to 168 to mash out. Set a strainer over the brew pot and placed the grain in the strainer.

Sparged it with one gallon at 178 over about 5 minutes and let it drain for 2-3 mins. Added my extract and northern brewer. Brewed 40, added hallertau, brewed 5, added moss/nutrient, brewed 15. All at a nice low boil. Added syrup and put in ice bath.

All told, wort was only 2.5 gallons. Added 2.5 gallons water to bring to 5 gallons. Pitched at 68.

Just to make sure... you checked O.G. right before you pitched in the yeast correct? Temp of the wort was 68 when you checked the gravity? I was looking back over some of my early brew day notes and the gravity readings were all over the place. It settles in eventually, probably do to getting a handle on the equipment etc...