How should it taste after primary ferment?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Beckerkorn

Reaction score
Hello all, I'm completely new to winemaking and I started my first batch of peach wine a week ago.

The recipe I used said to ferment it in a plastic bucket for seven days, then transfer to a carboy.

Well, I siphoned it to my carboy today, but when I took a little taste it was very boozy. Like a super-strong sake.

Is this normal? What is the ideal way that fruit wine should taste after primary ferment? Any visual or olfactory clues they will tell me when the time is right to move it from a bucket to a carboy? I'm worried I may have waited too long.

The ingredients I used:
*3 lb peaches (squeezed in a nylon sack)
*1 lb sugar (white refined)
*1/2 gal water (this ended up being not enough to make a gallon and I had to top up my carboy)
*1/2 tsp pectic acid
*1/2 c orange juice
*1 T yeast (Lalvin 1122) - this came to about 1 2/3 packets and it was "awakened" in the OJ before being added to the must

Thanks in advance!!

IF you used a high fusal yeast you will get a high alcohol % which = wine Champlain (dry)... I am still picking yeast for flavor atm :) Its all trial and error, there is no science...

There is some science, get a hydrometer. Without knowing the specific gravity before and after fermentation, you can't know what the alcohol content is.

Wine will always taste 'boozy' when coming from the primary. It takes time for the alcohol to mellow and balance out in flavor. Just keep an airlock on it and let it age, bottle in a few months. My last batch took 12 months to get good. Time is wines best friend.