How long will warm kegged beer keep ?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MikeinCT

Reaction score
So I am new to kegging. Just picked up my system. Don't have a cooler all figured out but it is coming.

I thought that I could use corn sugar to prime my latest batch that has been in fermenter for two weeks. Then after it was fully conditioned in the keg (say in 4 to 6 weeks at room temperature) I would chill it and drink it.

The fellow I bought my kegging system from said this was a very bad idea. First, I should only force carbonate my beer - no priming with sugar. Second, once it is force carbonated it has to be chilled or will go bad.

I am sure this has been covered but would like some comments from you guys.

thanks, Mike

No on both counts. There are plenty of people who prime with sugar/DME/etc. Saying that you "should only force carbonate" is flat out bad advice and wrong.

Once it's kegged, assuming you've purged the oxygen, out you have a closed system where oxygen can't get in. In theory, the beer will stay good indefinitely. Sure, there's a limit, but you're aging/conditioning the beer in a sanitized and oxygen-free environment so it's going to stay good for a VERY long time. Think of it like a big bottle - you can condition it just the same.

Sorry to say you got some bad advice there. Now, you don't know me from Adam so wait a bit and a get a consensus here.

Cheers.