Quantcast

How long will grain keep?

HomeBrewTalk.com - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Community.

Help Support Homebrew Talk:

earlyd

Reaction score
I am new to the world of all grain brewing. I have however done several extract with specialty grain batches but only 1 all grain. All of my extract batches I bought as a kit had just enough ingredients to make that one batch. I have found AG brewing to be much more rewarding so I am getting ready to start my second AG batch (a Bell's Best Brown Clone). What I have found is that the recipe calls for several different measurements of grain none of them are a whole number. I have also found that most homebrew shops only sell grain by the pound not the ounce. My question is if I buy 1 pound of chocolate malt and only use 2 ounces of it, how long will the additional 14 ounces last?

Please help,

~d

TexLaw

Here's Lookin' Atcha!
Lifetime Supporter
Reaction score
If it's not crushed, it'll keep until the weevils start hatching. That can be anywhere from a couple months to several months, depending on when the store got the grain in. Usually, it's longer.

TL

Turkeyfoot Jr.

Reaction score
I've read up to year if not longer if uncrushed and kept dry, cool and airtight. I just made a bulk grain purchase and I bought various sizes of these to store my grain in:

http://www.gammaplastics.com/new/vittles_vault.html

They're a little pricey but I've heard from several homebrewers at my LHBS that they work great and really keep the grain fresh.

Bombo80

Lifetime Supporter
Reaction score