Hop Heads - Please help with my first Black IPA!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TheOrlandoGuy

Reaction score
Hello! As the title said - this is my first attempt at a black IPA. I caught the bug after trying Abita "Imperator" for the first time, and holy cow am I impressed. Traditionally I stay on the maltier side of things - but I couldn't help but just appreciate how balanced and smooth this black IPA was.

So, I'll actually be trying to somewhat clone it as best I can.

Here's what Abita says:
"Abita Imperator is a robust, black IPA brewed with pale, caramel, chocolate and black malts. It commands your attention with an intense hop flavor and aroma provided by Apollo, Cascade, Centennial, Citra, Mosaic and Amarillo hops."

Beer profile provided by Abita:
ABV - 8%
IBU - 90
Color - 55 Lovibond

And here's what I have so far (Partial mash with extract) -

**I substituted Apollo with Magnum as my primary bittering hop**

Boil Time: 60 min
Batch Size: 5 gallons (fermentor volume)
Boil Size: 4 gallons
Boil Gravity: 1.102
Efficiency: 85% (brew house)

STATS:
Original Gravity: 1.082
Final Gravity: 1.023
ABV (standard): 7.72%
IBU (tinseth): 81.29
SRM (morey): 40

FERMENTABLES:
9 lb - Liquid Malt Extract - Light (73.5%)
1 lb - American - Pale 2-Row (8.2%)
1 lb - German - Carafa II (8.2%)
0.25 lb - American - Chocolate (2%)
1 lb - American - Caramel / Crystal 60L (8.2%)

HOPS:
1 oz - Magnum, Type: Pellet, AA: 15, Use: Boil for 60 min, IBU: 35.67
0.5 oz - Centennial, Type: Pellet, AA: 10, Use: Boil for 60 min, IBU: 11.89
1 oz - Amarillo, Type: Pellet, AA: 8.6, Use: Boil for 30 min, IBU: 15.72
1 oz - Cascade, Type: Pellet, AA: 7, Use: Boil for 30 min, IBU: 12.79
1 oz - Citra, Type: Pellet, AA: 11, Use: Boil for 5 min, IBU: 5.21

MASH GUIDELINES: