honey malt

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jstringer1983

Reaction score
So im new to all grain (8 batches under my belt) and i have been working on the same 2 recipes since i started AG: a blonde ale and a pale ale. My question is, will honey malt add any body to my beer? The reason i ask is both are mashed at the same temp, 148f because i prefer light body beers, however the blonde is always lighter in body than the pale ale. Both are identical recipes except the blonde gets .5 crystal 20 on top of the 10lbs 2 row, where as the pale ale gets .5 honey malt on 10lbs 2 row. Everything else is identical. Any thoughts? Id like the pale ale to be as light as the blonde is all......

Sorry i should add there is hop difference also, blonde gets 1oz willamette @60 and the pale ale gets .5 cascade @60, 30 and a 1oz dry hop with cascade

Honey Malt doesn't really add much in the way of body, if anything it's lighter than most malts in my experience. What OG and FG are each beer?

Honey malt is a domestic melanoidin malt with some light crystal characteristics. It may add a touch of body. I have doubts it would be that noticeable.

So the blonde ale consistently comes in at a 1.049 og/ 1.010 fg, whereas the pale ale has varied a bit, but the last 2 batches have been 1.052 og/ 1.010fg. Both recipes get 2 hydrated packs of US-05, and both are in primary for 2 weeks in a temp controlled chamber @ 66f and kegged, same carb level also.

Hrrrm, you're overpitching your yeast by quite a bit there unless you're making 10 gallon batches, that's probably the reason. One rehydrated pack of US-05 should handle 5 gallons of beer up to 1.060. Use one pack per batch and see if that doesn't turn out better for you, the OG and FG look fine.