Holy yeast cakes, EdWort!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

skifast1

Reaction score
Whoa, nelly - first batch of EdWort's haus ale is in the secondary and I couldn't believe the size of the cake in my bucket. Almost 1/2" deep! I felt bad not having a new batch ready to pitch on top of it.

I started brewing under the wyeast/white labs school of thought, but I may have to start keeping extra packets of dry Nottingham on hand. Per Ed's instructions, no starter, not even any hydration with this batch, just pitched 2 packets straight into the chilled wort. This recipe (so far) is definitely a positive AG experience. I highly recommend this recipe for other AG n00bies like me.
:mug:

My ingredients had been sitting in the closet for a few weeks and I noticed the package said 'Keep refrigerated', so I double-pitched to be safe; I've had some less-than-optimal results with stale liquid yeast

I'm pissed. I too am doing Ed's Haus Ale as my first all-grain (his apfelwein was my first home fermentation) and got the grains in this evening. Unfortunately, I forgot to order the Nottingham yeast when I placed my order and my LHBS doesn't carry it.

Ed, I've got a WL California Ale yeast, a WLP #002 (English Ale?) and a Wyeast 1098 British Ale (Can you guess where my favourite styles come from?) on hand - would you recommend any of them? Perhaps a Safale 05 which my LHBS carries?

The other option is order a dozen packets of nottingham (since it's not readily availible to me) this week and do my Rogue Mocha Porter clone as my first all-grain and do the Haus Ale later.

Kevin Dean said: