high gravity project

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bonsai4tim

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
It's been 5 years since I started brewing, and I like to do an experimental brew about once a year. Sometimes this works well others not so much (the one using purple sticky rice was horrible)

This year decided to do a pair of high gravity/high alcohol beers.

The light:
15 lbs 2 row
2 lbs wheat malt
0.5 lbs flaked oats.
90 min mash at 148 (BIAB) 2 oz Saaz x 60 min.
5.5 gallons at end of boil SG 1.070. (385 points)

4.5 gal went into the fermenter with WLP 099.
6 lbs lf exgtra light DME and 3 lbs was added to 1 gallon of wort, and boiled back down to 1 gallon. (405 points)

After the 4 gallons femented down to ~1.020, I added about 1 quart of the reserved gallon to the fementation bucket, gave it a stir, and re-capped. Did this every 2-3 days until I used up the reserved wort.

Corredted OG (after all additions) 1.143
SG in secondary: 1.020 (16% abv)

The Dark: (a very imperial stout)
15 lb 2 row
1 lb special B
1 lb chocolate malt
0.5 lb C-160
0.25 lb black patent
2 lbs flaked Oats
2 lbs Flaked barley
1.5 oz galena x 60 min

mashed at 148 x 90 min. (B9ab) ended up with 8 gallons boil volume. Boiled down to 5.5 gallons with a gravity of 1.100. 4.5 gallons pitch onto yeast cake from "the light" (WLP 099)

my goal was ~18% abv. Playing with the calculators on line, I figured I needed to get the "OG" up to about 1.160. Since I had 5.5 gallongs of 1.100 , I needed 5.5 x 60 points or another 330 points of sugars.

I added 5.5 pounds of extra light DME and 2 pounds of sugar to the reserved gallon, and carefully boiled down to about 1 gallon again.