Help with Jockey Box Setup

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

brewnoob98

Reaction score
Hi all,

Homebrewtalk noob here. I have a jockey box on wheels that I intend to rent out for parties, tailgates, weddings etc.. But I am having trouble getting it to pour without sputtering as soon as I pull the tap. Also, the beer is very foamy. The bubbles are quite big if that info is of any use.

While pouring from the first tap, I was noticing that the stream of beer would be nearly entirely liquid and then all bubbles, and this pattern would continue for as long as the tap was pulled. Retapping with the second tap produced a more consistent stream but very foamy beer.

I believe I can rule out temperature as being an issue. The keg was chilled in ice for at least two hours prior to pouring, and the jockey box was filled with ice also. I poured a few beers through the tap to get it nice and cold too.

Any and all ideas/troubleshooting would be greatly appreciated! Pictures/videos in the link below.

https://imgur.com/gallery/8lWRlCH

Hi @brewnoob98, welcome to HBT!

The one thing that stands out is that your beer lines to and from the jockey box are very wide, having a large internal diameter (ID). What are they 1/2" ID or so?
Those wide beer lines lower the restriction needed to prevent CO2 coming out of the beer while going through the line.

So I'd start by replacing your beer lines with regular 3/16" ID (7/16"OD) thick-walled (1/8") vinyl beer line (Type: Bevlex 200).
This tubing is likely available at a local homebrew store, call em up. Don't get any larger inner diameter tubing, 3/16" ID, that's what you need!

Notes_1:
  1. You'll have to make sure the 3/16" ID tubing fits over your barbs and coils. So take a variety of those with you, and a keg coupler.