Help with first Robust Porter recipe

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Brew2Be

Reaction score
Hi everyone.

I only have 3 beer batches under my belt so I'm still quite new to recipe creation. I want to create an easy drinking robust porter.

I was looking at the BJCP guidelines and tried piecing one together. If anyone would spend a few minutes looking it over and give me some feedback I would be very grateful.

The recipe so far is as follows:

Batch size: 1.85 gallons

Malts:

Pale Malt 3.53 lb (87%) Mash
Caramel Malt 80L 3.53 oz (5%) Steep
2-Row Black Malt 2.65 oz (4%) Steep
Chocolate Malt 1.76 oz (2%) Steep

Hops:

Target Great Britain 0.35 oz 60 min Boil Leaf (AA 11.0%)
Goldings, East Kent 0.18 oz 10 min Boil Leaf (AA 5.0%)
Goldings, East Kent 0.18 oz 5 min Boil Leaf (AA 5.0%)
Goldings, East Kent 0.35 oz 3 min Boil Leaf (AA 5.0%)

Yeast:
Safale S-04

Additionals:
A handful of oats (not sure when to add)

Predicted values:
OG: 1.060
FG: 1.018
ABV: 5.5%
IBU: 38
SRM: 32
IBU/OG: 0.63 (bitter)

Thank you in advance.

Looking at a few robust porters that have gotten good reviews (Biermuencher's Black Pearl, Conpewter's Robust Bumpus, and Ed Wort's Bee Cave Robust Porter), generally the chocolate malt and crystal malts are set at about 7-9% of the grist, and the black malt, when used, is at about 2-3%. As your recipe sits now, I think that it's going to lack the well-rounded, pleasant, roasted flavor that we look for in a robust porter, but might have a harshness from too much black malt.

Black Pearl has oats, mashed, at about 8% of the grist, for smooth mouthfeel. Bee Cave has flaked barley for the same reason.