Help with an all grain wheat, first one

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mrk305

Beer Dude in the Sunset
Reaction score
I have never made a wheat beer, but I drank one this week that I liked and thought I would like to try one. I have been looking at recipes for the last couple of days, and seeing mash temps of 149 for 90 minutes are recomended....

..... after that, what kind of sparge temps should I use? I have never used wheat before.

I am thinking about something dry with some rye and coriander. Suggestions?

I have never made a wheat beer, but I drank one this week that I liked and thought I would like to try one. I have been looking at recipes for the last couple of days, and seeing mash temps of 149 for 90 minutes are recomended....

..... after that, what kind of sparge temps should I use? I have never used wheat before.

I am thinking about something dry with some rye and coriander. Suggestions?

for 5g, use 5.5 lbs wheat, 4.5 lbs 2-row. mash at 152. sparge at 168. i have 12g hefe fermenting right now that i just brewed yesterday with those ratios. that'll run about 5%

Two things universal to all wheat beers: the kernels are smaller than barley so adjust your mill accordingly, and they don't have a husk so anything over 50% wheat, depending on your lautering rig, start thinking of some rice hulls. Other than that it's not really any different.

Since you haven't named a style but mentioned coriander, I'm led to believe you're after a witbier, yesno? 'Cause spices in a hefeweizen would be gross, not to mention heresy..