Help understanding sparge temperature.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Beer-Baron

Reaction score
Hi there,

I'm pretty new to All Grain brewing. I'm about 5 batches in and I've been playing with different ways of doing it and experimenting to see what works for me.

My most recent method I've been using is a variation of Brew in a Bag. I mash with most of my water, but then I have a second pot I use to sparge my grains in.

Basically, I complete my mash with about 23 Liters of water and then I take all my sparge water I need and heat it up to about 150 and "teabag" my grains in that for a bit and then combine the 2 pots. I've got some good results with this and got pretty good efficiency without having to squeeze out the bag at all.

Should I sparging up at the 168 mark? If so, why?

Why couldn't I just sparge with ice water if I wanted to?

You want to stop the process of extracting sugars from the grain. 150F would just be adding more malt sugars leaving you with a higher gravity wort.

168F is pretty minimal. I usually have my sparge water @ 185F or higher.

I would think if you sparged with ice water, the pores would shrink up and you wouldn't get the grain properly rinsed.

I have been wondering the same thing too. I have done no sparge, mash out, and batch sparging like you. Can't really tell a difference (other than effec) and I like the idea of just doing a simple rinse with room temp water instead of having to heat up the sparge water.

As far as stopping the conversion.....I'm thinking its not that big of a deal in most of the beers I have been making...IPA's and wheats. But I don't really know or understand what it does...