do you still need to heat sparge water if you mash out at 170 for 20 mins

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fluketamer

Reaction score
i am very new to AG and the manual for my aio says to mash out for 20 mins at 168-170 before sparging but it doesnt say you have to heat the sparge water. is it just assumed that the sparge water should be 170 i know theres a whole theory about cold sparging but does mahs out avoid the need to heat sparge water

thanks

but does mahs out avoid the need to heat sparge water

The purpose of doing a mash out is to denature the enzymes and lock in the mash profile. It may also increase extract efficiency slightly.

Generally on an AIO you'll be heating to boil while you sparge and the enzymes are being denatured anyway.

Cold water won't change the fluidity of the mash and won't cause the starches in solution to all of sudden gel up or become bound back up in proteins.

Cold water won't lower the temperature of the wort in your kettle enough to cause any issues especially if you're heating at the same time you're sparging.

I use a G40 also and heat all of the water at once, then pump out enough water into a separate pot to use for sparge at the end of the mash. This works well with the YOS technique and allows treating the mash and sparge waters separately.

That is a great idea Huck. I guess the only downside is that it takes longer for the combined strike/sparge water to reach strike temperature and you then need an insulated container to try and hold your sparge water temperature during the mash.

What is YOS?

That is a great idea Huck. I guess the only downside is that it takes longer for the combined strike/sparge water to reach strike temperature