Help transitioning to full volume ebiab

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ehk089

Reaction score
I have been brewing for 3 or 4 years now on an electric 3v here’s system i diy’d out of keggles I made and am looking to downsize my footprint, and maybe shorten brew day slightly. I want to buy a good kettle w/ tri clamp fittings to use with a wilser bag for full volume, no sparge mashing. I typically brew 10 gal batches so I’m thinking 30 gal kettle will be needed in order to mash bigger beers too. I don’t step mash so I’ll probably just keep my diy ssvr controller I have. Does anyone have any recommendations as far as best kettles, and setup for this? Is 30 gal the right size? Proprietary elements or generic?

I've got a 20 gallon kettle and feel that it is plenty of room. I've never done a huge beer, but am sure I could if I want to.

All depends on what you want your setup to be. If you're not step mashing, mashing out or recirculating you dont need a flase bottom. Kettles to fit this bill are a dime a dozen. Any name brand out there will work. Just have to decide how many bells and whistles you want.

I have been brewing for 3 or 4 years now on an electric 3v here’s system i diy’d out of keggles I made and am looking to downsize my footprint, and maybe shorten brew day slightly. I want to buy a good kettle w/ tri clamp fittings to use with a wilser bag for full volume, no sparge mashing. I typically brew 10 gal batches so I’m thinking 30 gal kettle will be needed in order to mash bigger beers too. I don’t step mash so I’ll probably just keep my diy ssvr controller I have. Does anyone have any recommendations as far as best kettles, and setup for this? Is 30 gal the right size? Proprietary elements or generic?