Help, I think I've got 9 gallons of diacetyl IPA..

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

brobeman

Reaction score
I'm pretty new to brewing but have been all grain for the last 3 months or so. I brewed an extract Pliny the Elder kit from Austin HB early on that started out great, but ended up with a taste that I couldn't stand. Not sure how to describe it, other than it's kind of a toasted caramel flavor that to me is pretty cloying. I know diacetyl is supposed to taste like butterscotch or margarine, and although that's not exactly what I'm getting, I'm afraid that's what I've got.

Having choked the Pliny keg down I'm now on to a 5 gal Corny of a Zombie Dust clone and another of Firestone Walker's Union Jack (Can You Brew It). I hit my numbers in both cases and ran primary fermentation in both cases somewhere in the high 60s (probably around 65, but as low as 60/61). Primary fermentation ran on the ZombieDust about 23 days, and for the UJ 15 days. I don't recall raising the temp, but I may have pulled them both upstairs for a few days where they would have seen temps in the low 70's.

In both cases I cold crashed in my kegerator for 24 hours at 37 before racking to secondary. Both beers saw 10-14 days of dry hopping at 54F, another 24 hour cold crash at 37F before racking to keg.

The ZD has been carb'ing up for the last week and half and the Union Jack for a little less than a week.

I'm afraid if got a diacetyl issue from fermenting too cold. Both beers used Wyeast 1968 which I built up using a 1300ml starter with 1 cup of DME for ~18-24 hours (no stir plate) before cooling and decanting.