Help! First All-Grain Batch and now doing the math

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bheinemann

Reaction score
Hi- I'm new to all-grain brewing and I am so confused about all of this OG, BG, efficiency, etc.

I brewed a black ipa (CDA) and used:
10 lb. pale 2-row
1 lb. crystal 40
8 oz. carafa III
4 oz. chocolate malt

So that's 11.75 lbs. of grain. I ended up with 8.5 gallons after I finished my sparge. I took a reading (or tried- maybe I messed it up?) and got 1.022. From what I've read and the math I did- that means I was at like a 16 on efficiency- not good. But that doesn't make sense to me. Anyone help me out here- what do I do with all of these numbers?! Oh, and according to Palmer's book I was to take that hydrometer reading pre-boil, in the brew pot, which is what I did.

Are you saying that you ended up with 8.5 gallons pre-boil volume? Or that you used 8.5 gallons of water for your water/grain ratio in the MASH? What was your post boil volume? If you had 8.5 pre-boil volume and only boiled for an that would leave about 7 gallons post boil (give or take some). Did you boil it down to 5 - 5.5 gallons?

A little bit of additional details will help to answer your question.

Cheers :mug:

A pre-boil gravity reading is good to know to determine mash efficiency, but post-boil is the most important. I don't even bother with pre-boil readings any more. Still, for that much grain, 1.022 pre-boil seems a bit low for any average gravity brew. Your grain was crushed, right?

EDIT: In thinking about this a bit more, as ETCS mentioned, that 8.5 gallons is likely the issue. For a 5 gallon batch, 8.5 gallons is a lot of liquor. I have to ask the same question: is 8.5 gallons the total mash volume or is that the pre-boil volume?